Jump to Main content area


FAQ for Earthquake

13. What is the "seismic zone"?

Based on past monitoring experience, the majority of earthquakes have been distributed along a belt-shaped area, which is called the "seismic zone".
They are mainly distributed as follow:

(1) Circum-Pacific seismic zone:
This refers to the areas around the Pacific Ocean, along the edge of the continents. The western part of the circum-Pacific seismic zone starts from Aleutian Islands, through the Kuril Islands, Japan, Okinawa, Taiwan, the Philippines, and Indonesia down to New Zealand. The eastern part of the circum-Pacific seismic zone starts from Alaska, through North America and the west coast of Central and South America, down to the southern tip of the Andes.
(2) Eurasia seismic zone also known as the Mediterranean seismic zone:
This zone starts from the northern Mediterranean Sea, including the Italian Peninsula and Sicily, through Turkey, Iran, Pakistan, northern India, and down to the boundaries of Qinghai and Xizang in China. This zone also branches over Xinjiang, and transfers to Gansu and Shaanxi.
(3) Mid-ocean-ridge seismic zone:
This zone appears in various ocean ridges, such as in the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, the East Pacific Ocean and the Arctic Ocean.
(4) Taiwan seismic zone.