Jump to Main content area


FAQ for Earthquake

26. How have tsunamis jeopardized Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen, and Matsu?

According to the historical records, the risk of tsunamis striking on the coastal areas of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen, and Matsu are divided based on the administrative areas as shown in the following table:

Classification Area Description
I New Taipei City, Keelung City. The historical data show evidence of tsunami disasters.
II Taichung City, Changhua County, Yunlin County, Chiayi County, Tainan City, Kaohsiung City (Dongsha and Nansha included), Pingtung County, Taitung County, Hualien County, Yilan County, Penghu County. The historical data show possible records of tsunami or suspected tsunami, but with no tsunami disasters.
III Taoyuan County, Hsinchu County, Hsinchu City, Miaoli County, Kinmen County, Lienchiang County. The historical data show no record of tsunami, but may be subjected to influence.
Remark: Taipei City, Chiayi City, and Nantou County don't face the sea, and are not under tsunami threat.